Home KIMATAIFA President of the Republic of Madagascar Andry Rajoelina Winner of the Grand...

President of the Republic of Madagascar Andry Rajoelina Winner of the Grand Builder Super Prize – Babacar NDIAYE Trophy 2023, was received

Google search engine

By Special Correspondent

– Egypt

The Super Prize Great Builder – Babacar NDIAYE Trophy was received on Tuesday, May 23, 2023 by Mr. Patrick RAJOELINA, Special Advisor in charge of Diplomacy and Economic Cooperation to the President of the Republic of Madagascar, Representing the President of the Republic of Madagascar, laureate 2023, HE. Andry RAJOELINA.

The presentation of the trophy was made by Mr. Mike SALAWOU, Director of the Department of Infrastructure and Urban Development at the African Development Bank (AfDB), during the Final Conference which was held in the auditorium of Savoy Hotel, on the sidelines of the AfDB’s 2023 Annual Meetings, which take place from May 22 to 26.

Mr. Patrick RAJOELINA was with a strong high-level delegation including the Minister of Economy and Finance, Governor of the AfDB, Mrs. Rindra Hasimbelo RABARINIRINARISON, the Director of Communication – Spokesperson of the President of the Republic, Mrs. Lova RANOROMARO and the President of the Board of Directors of the Economic Development Board of Madagascar (EDBM), Ms. Lantosoa RAKOTOMALALA.

On behalf of the laureate, Mr. Patrick RAJOELINA declared: “This mark of recognition is a source of pride for himself, but, far beyond that, it is an honor for the Malagasy people. This distinction strengthens him in his courage and his desire to go even further and to redouble his efforts to build a better future for our Malagasy fellow citizens”.

He also declared: “It is also an additional motivation for President Andry RAJOELINA to carry out his sacred mission in the service of our People: to build an emerging Nation, to catch up with the delay which has been taken for decades for the development of the country. and change, by modernizing it, the history of Madagascar.

This prestigious Super Prize Great Builder – Babacar NDIAYE Trophy represents recognition not only from The Africa Road Builders but also from the African Development Bank”.

For his part, and addressing the Representative of the winner, the General Commissioner of The Africa Road Builders – Trophée Babacar NDIAYE and CEO of ACTUROUTES, Mr. Barthélemy KOUAME declared: “I would like, on behalf of The Africa Road Builders – Trophée Babacar NDIAYE, strongly encourage him in the way of construction, for the happiness of the People of Madagascar, for the greatness of Africa as a whole. We, journalists, animators of The Africa Road Builders – Trophée Babacar NDIAYE, we assure him of our objective and effective support to build the roads and transport of Madagascar”.

Before the presentation of the Babacar NDIAYE Trophy, Mr. George ORIDO, Journalist from Kenya and Spokesperson of the Selection Committee, solemnly read again the Statement which appoints HE. Andry RAJOELINA laureate 2023.

He notably declared: “SEM. Andry RAJOELINA, President of the Republic of Madagascar, is designated laureate of the Super Prize Grand Builder – Babacar NDIAYE Trophy 2023. For his personal leadership and for his commitments and investments to provide Madagascar with mobility infrastructure in perfect harmony with sustainable development goals.

The Selection Committee particularly noted the delivery of the Iarivo ring road, the peripheral highway of the city of Antananarivo, a symbol of sustainable mobility infrastructure with, in particular, the integration of pedestrian and cycle paths alongside the motorized paths. With its secure bus stops and rubbish drop-off points for better collection, this road is resolutely at the service of the population, believes the Selection Committee.

The Selection Committee also noted the expansion of Ivato airport, which takes into account people with reduced mobility by improving the car parks, as well as now clearly visible pedestrian signs.

Finally, the Selection Committee notes with great satisfaction the strengthening of transport connectivity in rural areas. This undoubtedly increases agricultural productivity and improves the economy and people’s lives.

The Selection Committee also welcomes the approval by the African Development Bank (AfDB) of the “Country Strategy Paper for the period 2022-2026”. This agreement will notably enable Madagascar to benefit from increased interventions in terms of transport infrastructure, “with a view to supporting inclusive growth”.

As is often done, the awarding of The Super Prize Great Builder – Babacar NDIAYE Trophy was preceded by the awarding of the Africa Road Builders Special Prizes. This year, the winners of the Special Prizes are:

Afreximbank (Egypt), Association of African Road Maintenance Funds (ARMFA, Cameroon), Road Maintenance Fund of Côte d’Ivoire (Côte d’Ivoire), Autonomous Road Maintenance Fund (FERA, Senegal) and Mwasalat Misr (Egypt)

The Special Prizes reward institutions and companies that have outstanding results related to the theme of the event. The 2023 theme is: “Sustainable mobility in Africa, a lever for development”.

The Africa Road Builders – Trophée Babacar NDIAYE is a series of two annual Conferences whose Final Conference is held at the Annual Meetings of the AfDB. The event was established in 2016. It bears the name of Dr Babacar NDIAYE, President of the AfDB from 1985 to 1995, who himself attended the first two editions, before his call to God. The Africa Road Builders – Babacar NDIAYE Trophy is sponsored by Dr Akinwumi ADESINA, President of the AfDB.

The Babacar NDIAYE family was represented by Mr. Alassane NDIAYE, son of Dr. Babacar NDIAYE, who made a speech at the Final Conference and congratulated the winner of the Babacar NDIAYE Trophy. He also presented the Special Prizes to their recipients.

Google search engine


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here